Keep Christmas With You

“These precious moments…hold them very dear…and keep Christmas with you all through the year.” Bob McGrath, Sesame Street Christmas Sing-a-long, 1984

The lights are down and the tree is away. Night by night the neighbors’ houses are a little more dim and winter tightens its grip around us. The planners are out and the schedules are being juggled. Though the longest night has ended, the daunting period between Christmas and sledding frenzy here in Virginia is well underway. So, how do we hold on to the meaning that brightens our hearts in December now that January is here?

December, for me, has always meant immersing myself in experiences which bring me joy. I shop in November so that nothing can rob me of my moments amidst Christmas lights, caroling, good food, and better company. I sink into good books, blissfully optimistic films, and let little feet run wild. My carefully balanced schedule teeters and I practice laughing at its wild rocking. I apologize for nothing. What might a year of that be like?

I am tempted to say exhausting and, maybe, terrifying. December is a miracle in that it is brief. It is a reminder to live with hope for the coming year, to sink into the joy extended by my families of blood and choice, and to commit to seeking peace within myself. 

With December behind me and my organizer opened, I do not want to lose sight of these reminders amidst the lists I make for myself. I want to keep hope alive by seeking sensations and experiences which bring smiles and offer encouragement. I want to hold fast to joy by reaching out my hand and heart to my chosen family without exhausting my own resources. I want to seek peace by speaking to myself and others with my truth, graciousness, and love.

Perhaps you want to join me and keep the messages God sends you in December alive? After all, we see our guiding lights best when it is dark. The blinding, irritating distractions which take us from hope, joy, and peace dim in the dark. Winter is not frightening if you can find even one star in the sky or one spark to warm you. How beautiful is a candle wavering in the dark! How soothing is the glowing fire!

When the dark weighs heavily on you in the coming months, I encourage you to seek out sparks and lights. Pray or meditate by the light of a single candle or turn off the lights and wrap yourself in a warm blanket by the fire. Let the fire tell you a story full of energy and movement. Don’t turn winter into a season of withdrawal but use it to kindle your passions. Feed the fire of your soul and move with it. Run with joy toward experiences that keep you as happy as Christmas carols, as hopeful as a star in the sky, and as peaceful as a silent night. 

Feel free to keep in touch with me on Instagram at @breathedeep212 or at my website www.drtheresasnell.weebly.com

-Dr. Theresa Snell

Categories Uncategorized
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close